Appendix 2

Public hearings

Monday, 8 October 2018 – Canberra

Australian Conservation Foundation

Mr James Trezise, Policy Analyst Mr Andrew Picone, Nature Campaigner

WWF-Australia - via videoconference

Dr Martin Taylor, Protected Areas and Conservation Science Manager

Parks Australia

Dr Judy West, Director of National Parks Ms Tiffeny Horwood, Acting Assistant Secretary, Parks, Island and Biodiversity Science

Australian Academy of Science

Professor Craig Moritz, Chair, National Committee for Ecology, Evolution and Conservation Dr Stuart Barrow, Senior Policy Analyst

Department of the Environment and Energy

Mr Dean Knudson, Deputy Secretary
Ms Monica Collins, Chief Compliance Officer
Dr Sally Box, Threatened Species Commissioner
Ms Kylie Jonasson, First Assistant Secretary
Mr Matthew Whitfort, Acting First Assistant Secretary, Knowledge and Technology Division
Mr Steve Costello, Assistant Secretary, Program Delivery Branch, Biodiversity Conservation Division
Mr Geoff Richardson, Assistant Secretary, Protected Species and Communities Branch
Ms Veronica Blazely, Acting Assistant Secretary, Wildlife Trade and Biosecurity Branch

Thursday, 22 November 2018 – Melbourne

Professor David Lindenmayer AO – private capacity

The Wilderness Society Ltd

Mr Lyndon Schneiders, National Director Ms Amelia Young, Victorian Campaigns Manager

Victorian National Parks Association Inc.

Mr Matt Ruchel, Executive Director

MyEnvironment Inc.

Ms Sarah Rees, President

Environmental Justice Australia

Mr Brendan Sydes, Chief Executive Officer and Principal Lawyer Dr Bruce Lindsay, Lawyer

Wildlife of the Central Highlands

Ms Maggie Riddington, President Mr Jake Mckenzie, Executive Member

Environment East Gippsland – via teleconference

Ms Jill Redwood, Coordinator

Goongerah Environment Centre

Mr Ed Hill

Victorian Forestry Corporation (VicForests)

Mr Alex Messina, General Manager, Corporate Affairs Mr Tim McBride, Manager, Biodiversity, Conservation and Reach Mr Bill Paul, Manager, Environmental Performance

Australian Forests Products Association – via teleconference

Mr Ross Hampton, Chief Executive Officer Mr Victor Violante, Senior Policy Manager

Healesville Sanctuary/Zoos Victoria

Ms Rachel Lowry, Director, Wildlife Conservation and Science, Zoos Victoria

Friday, 1 February 2019 – Brisbane

BirdLife Australia

Mr Paul Sullivan, Chief Executive Dr James Radford, Chair, Research and Conservation Committee Ms Judith Hoyle, Convenor, BirdLife Southern Queensland

The Wilderness Society

Mr Lyndon Schneiders, National Director Ms Jessica Panegyres, National Nature Campaigner

Professor Frank Carrick AM – Private capacity

Australians for Animals Inc

Ms Sue Arnold, Coordinator

Redlands2030 Inc

Mr Chris Walker, Secretary

Protect the Bush Alliance

Dr Stephen Prowse, Chair Ms Sheena Gillman, Secretary and Project Coordinator

Ecological Society of Australia

Dr Rebekah Christensen, Vice-President (Public Policy and Outreach)

Dr James Watson – Private capacity

Green Fire Science Hub, University of Queensland

Dr April Reside, Research Fellow

Queensland Conservation Council

Ms Louise Matthiesson, Director

Wildlife Preservation Society of Queensland

Mr Peter Ogilvie, President Mr Des Boyland, Policies and Campaigns Manager

Threatened Species Recovery Hub, National Environmental Science Program

Professor Martine Maron, Deputy Director

Quandamooka Yoolooburrabee Aboriginal Corporation

Mr Cameron Costello, Chief Executive Officer Ms Kathryn Crouch, Joint Management Ranger Professor Darryl Low Choy, Chair, Quandamooka Land and Sea Committee Mr Joel Bolzenius, Projects and Policy Coordinator Dr Jan Aldenhoven, Adviser

Monday, 4 February 2019 – Hobart

CSIRO

Professor Paulo de Souza Jr, Group Leader, Data61
Professor Nic Bax, Senior Principal Research Scientist, Oceans and Atmosphere
Dr David Westcott, Senior Principal Research Scientist, Land and Water
Dr Tim Lynch, Senior Research Scientist, Oceans and Atmosphere

North East Bioregional Network Inc.

Mr Todd Dudley, President

Tasmanian Conservation Trust

Mr Peter McGlone, Director

The Wilderness Society

Mr Vica Bayley, Tasmanian Campaign Manager

Wombat Rescue Tasmanis

Ms Bea Mayne, President and Northern Coordinator Ms Lauren Faulkner, Secretary Ms Kim Rettig, Southern Coordinator

BirdLife Tasmania

Dr Eric Woehler, Convenor

Dr Dejan Stojanovic – Private capacity

Dr Matthew Webb – Private capacity

Birds of King Island – via teleconference

Ms Kathrine Ravich, Facilitator

Dr Phillipa McCormack – Private capacity

Professor Jan McDonald – Private capacity

Professor James Kirkpatrick – Private capacity

Professor David Bowman – Private capacity – via teleconference

Professor Brendan Mackey – Private capacity

Dr Nicole Rogers - Private capacity - via teleconference

Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary

Mr Greg Irons, Director

Tuesday, 5 February 2019 – Hobart

Dr Neville Barrett – Private capacity

Dr Graham Edgar – Private capacity

Mr Todd Walsh – Private capacity – via teleconference

Law Council of Australia

Ms Jessica Feehely, Committee Member, Environment and Planning Law Committee, Legal Practice Section

Tasmanian Land Conservancy

Mr James Hattam, Chief Executive Officer Dr Sally Bryant, Head of Science

Department of the Environment and Energy

Dr Nick Gales, Australian Commissioner to the International Whaling Commission

Thursday, 14 February 2019 – Canberra

Australian Conservation Foundation

Mr James Trezise, Policy Analyst Ms Annica Schoo, Environmental Investigator

Threatened Species Recovery Hub, National Environmental Science Programme

Professor Brendan Wintle, Director Professor John Woinarski, Deputy Director Professor Sarah Legge, Deputy Director Mr Bradley Moggridge, Indigenous Liaison Officer

Department of the Environment and Energy

Ms Kylie Jonasson, First Assistant Secretary

Mr James Tregurtha, First Assistant Secretary

Dr Sally Box, Threatened Species Commissioner

Mr Geoff Richardson, Assistant Secretary, Protected Species and Communities Branch

Mr Paul Murphy, Assistant Secretary, Wildlife Trade and Biosecurity Branch

Mrs Monica Collins, Chief Compliance Officer, Office of Compliance

Ms Tia Stevens, A/g Assistant Secretary, Biodiversity Policy and Water Science Branch